//
you're reading...
Sports

Best feeling ever!

So on Sunday October 9 2011 (9-10-11) was the day I participated and completed my first Marathon. It was set in Melbourne and was known as the Bank of Melbourne, Melbourne Marathon!

Leading up to the race I was carrying an injury to both my knees and was praying and hoping to just finish the race. I ended up running with the 4hours 15min pace group…Don’t ask me why, it was a stupid idea especially with the injury I was carrying but to tell you the truth I do not regret it at all!

My left knee starting giving way at the 12km mark to my dismay but I kept on pushing. My pace leader told me that he had a sure fire way of gettin rid of the pain and I asked him how and he said “I’ll punch you in the face!” LOL!!! I said I might have to get back to him on that at the 30km mark, if I make it that far. He was such an inspiration and such a great motivator, and at the 25km mark when I wanted to thrown in the towel coz of my knee he started asking me more about myself and what I do in order to take my mind of the pain.

At the 30km mark I got one of the biggest lifts throughout the whole race! My good friend Paulino waited for me all morning at the 30km mark and as soon as he saw me he YELLED OUT “COME ONE LIONEL U CAN DO IT!!!” I tell you what people, no energy gel or power drink could have done what Paulino did for me then. I lifted and was back in the game! He followed me along the running course on his bicycle and told my gf when I was going to pass her.

Saw two other friends Julianne and George keeping my gf company and I just had to ask for a kiss from my gf and that was another super pick me up! At the 35km mark I felt it…What u may ask? It was THE WALL!!! The MARATHONER’S WORST NIGHTMARE! Your legs feel like jelly and everything starts to cramp up and you start to question yourself…”Lionel! WTF are u doing?! Why are you putting urself through this?!”

But the mind is a strong thing and it can overcome whatever your body tells you! So PUSHED ON I DID! At the last 2km I felt my hamstring about to pull and tried not to slow down too much as I was afraid I might pull it. Was so nervous when I saw a runner in front of me then pull his right hammy, which was where I was feeling too but thank god mine help up.

At the last corner I saw the finish line and I was swearing &*&%*^()#&% in my head as I realised it was an uphill finish! I felt like I was sprinting towards the finish line and I had that theme song slow motion thingo in my head…LOL must have been going as slow as a turtle.

At the finish I was just so emotional I couldn’t hold back the tears! I can honestly say it was the most emotional thing I have ever done and accomplished! Had a massage from the Fitness First crew there and it felt so good. Also took an ice bath when I got home and OMG WAS IT FREEZING!!! Was screaming when I got into the bath and couldn’t stay in for the first 1 minute but got back in for another 15 which felt good! Recovering today and my knees are killling me, can barely walk compared to when I was running yesterday hehehehehe…

I would like to say a BIG THANK YOU to everyone for supporting me and encouraging me, before, after and during my race and also to those who donated!!! If any of you would like to donate to my charity you still can at http://www.everydayhero.com.au/shortie84

THANKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Don't let the smile fool u...I was in pain LOL!

Was so glad to see my gf at the Finish Line waiting for me

Julianne and George! Great support!

About shortie84

Not known to be the tallest person except within my family although no one believes me -.-' I love sports and any gadget that has to do with my sport. I don't mind shopping and love FOOTBALL!!! I talk non-stop and repeat stories a lot of times so this blog is probably best to keep track of what I have and what I have no said yet lol!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Me and nothing more


If u were wondering...Yes I am vertically challenged :)

The Best Short Stuffs

