//
you're reading...
Sports

2 down 1 to go!

So I’ve done my second race in preparation for my first marathon and this time it was the Sandy Point Half Marathon…if you don’t know how far that is then let me tell you…21KM!!! lol

Was a bit worried going into this race that I didn’t prep enough for it but it ended up being such a beautiful day that nothing was going to stop me! The sun was out, kids were lining the route with their parents while sticking out their tiny hands for a high five or two from the passing runners, and the crowd was amazing!

I did the stupidest thing though, at the 19km mark I thought I’d sprint the last 1km so I ran my guts out and saw the FINISH LINE in the distance and was overjoyed. However, I then realised everyone was still running and I had passed the FINISH LINE…OH SHIT!!! It’s a 21km race I still got 1km to go and I sprinted waaaaayyyyy too early…STEWPID BOIIIII!!! I totally forgot that there was another 1km in the race before you make a u-turn and an uphill leg to the FINISH LINE! I almost died I tell you, lol I was so pumped esp with people cheering GOOD STRONG FINISH but little did I know I still had another 1km to go.

Nevertheless I still pushed on to finish the 1km and was the toughest part of the whole race but running down the last 100m the announcer on the PA was cheering me and this other guy on as we sprinted to the FINISH. She was yelling, “GO YOU GOOD THING! SPRINT FINISH BOYS! SHOW ME WHAT YOU GOT!” and the crowd was going nuts!!!

Finished the race in 1:51:58 and was very happy especially since I was aiming for a 2 hour finish because it was the first half marathon I had done in my Vibram Five Fingers! Now on to the MARATHON in OCTOBER!!!

I think the highlight of the race would be just before the 19km mark near where a lot of the supporters were, a lil 5 year old girl standing along the side of the course stuck out her hand and as I HIGH FIVE’d her she yelled out “GOOD JOB” in the cutest way. This is why I enjoy running RACES!

p.s. I’m running the Melbourne Marathon for charity so if you would like to donate to my charity CPEC – Cerebral Palsy Education Centre, please visit htttp://www.everydayhero.com.au/shortie84

Some pictures for you guys to enjoy! =)

All smiles now at the start!

Twas freeeeeezzzzziiiinnnngggg in the morning

Almost there!

SPRINT FINISSSSSSSSHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!

About shortie84

Not known to be the tallest person except within my family although no one believes me -.-' I love sports and any gadget that has to do with my sport. I don't mind shopping and love FOOTBALL!!! I talk non-stop and repeat stories a lot of times so this blog is probably best to keep track of what I have and what I have no said yet lol!

Discussion

One thought on “2 down 1 to go!

  1. Sub 2 hr. Good job Bro.

    Posted by Munintaran Sundram | August 24, 2011, 1:11 pm

Leave a Reply

Me and nothing more


If u were wondering...Yes I am vertically challenged :)

The Best Short Stuffs

