//
you're reading...
Sports

First step to the big one

So on Sunday 17 July, I took my first step towards my first Marathon on October 9 2011, took part it the Run Melbourne 10km event and I did it in these bad boys!

20110726-082538.jpg

I was so excited to finally run in my Vibram Five Fingers in an official race so I thought what better than to do it in a 10km race!

I got a few friends to come along too and the girls here at the bottom were running their first race and after the race they were estatic and loved the atmosphere of the day so much that they are planning to join the next 10km race in Oct!

20110726-082831.jpg

I was aiming for a 50min target and in the first half of the race I set myself up to follow another racer who was fast enough for me to keep up and running at a consistent space. One thing I’ve learnt from running races is that plugging your earphones and turning ur ipod on is such a waste because
1. It’s harder to keep a steady pace coz naturally u follow the beat of the music
2. It’s harder to pace your breathing coz of the music as well
3. And finally, you can’t enjoy the beautiful sounds of the outdoors and of the supporters cheering u on

So take my advice and try running a race without your ipod switched on next time, it seriously will not make your race harder but actually make it much more enjoyable and easier.

Amazingly I finished my race better than expected and recorded a PB (Personal Best) of 46:10 and had never been so tired after running 10km before. The next thought that came to my mind was…I CAN’T WAIT FOR THE MARATHON IN OCTOBER

If you’re interested in donating towards my Marathon in Oct as I’ll be running for charity please visit my donation page @ My Marathon Charity

More pics from Run Melbourne

20110726-084229.jpg

20110726-084244.jpg

20110726-084249.jpg

About shortie84

Not known to be the tallest person except within my family although no one believes me -.-' I love sports and any gadget that has to do with my sport. I don't mind shopping and love FOOTBALL!!! I talk non-stop and repeat stories a lot of times so this blog is probably best to keep track of what I have and what I have no said yet lol!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Me and nothing more


If u were wondering...Yes I am vertically challenged :)

The Best Short Stuffs

